2015 Lawrence Foundation Prize Goes to Alyson Hagy

Browse By

Alyson Hagy has won the $1,000 Lawrence Foundation Prize for 2015.  The prize is awarded annually by the Editorial Board of MQR to the author of the best short story published that year in the journal.  A mature, finely crafted story set in Yellowstone country, Hagy’s “Switchback” appeared in the Spring 2015 issue.

Hagy is the thirty-eighth winner of the prize, joining, among other authors, Charles Baxter, Paul Bowles, Susan Dodd, Clark Blaise, Sena Jeter Naslund, Rebecca Makkai, Alice Mattison, and Lynne Sharon Schwartz.  The prize is endowed by the Lawrence Foundation and its director, Leonard S. Bernstein, an alumnus of the University of Michigan and himself a fiction writer.

Hagy is the author of seven works of fiction, including the story collection Ghosts of Wyoming and the novel Boleto.  She lives in Laramie and teaches at the University of Wyoming.

%d bloggers like this: