Browse By


Lawrence Foundation Prize

This annual $1,000 cash prize is awarded by the Michigan Quarterly Review editorial board to the author of the best short story published in MQR that year. Established in 1978, the prize is sponsored by University of Michigan alumnus and fiction writer Leonard S. Bernstein, a trustee of the Lawrence Foundation of New York. Approximately twenty short stories are published in MQR each year.

The winner for 2016 was Ruchama King Feuerman for her story “Kill Fonzie,” which appeared in MQR’s Winter 2016 issue.

Laurence Goldstein Prize

This annual $500 cash prize is awarded to the author of a poem or group of poems published that year in Michigan Quarterly Review. The award was established in 2002 by a generous gift from the Office of the President of the University of Michigan. A different judge is selected each year by the university. Approximately fifty poems are published in MQR each year.

The 2016 winner, selected by Laura Kasischke, was John Rybicki for his poem “A River Is Not a Watery Rope,” which appeared in the Winter 2016 issue.

Page Davidson Clayton Prize for Emerging Poets

Created in 2009 by Mac and Meg Clayton to honor the memory of Page Davidson Clayton, this prize, in the amount of $500, is awarded by the editors each year to the best poet appearing in Michigan Quarterly Review who has yet to publish a book.

The winner of the eighth annual Clayton Prize is Eric Rivera, whose poem “Smoke” appeared in the Fall 2016 issue.

Page Davidson Clayton

Page Davidson Clayton

Page Davidson Clayton

Page Davidson Clayton was a bridge between times. Her parents went to Ole Miss with William Faulkner, who called her mother “pretty little Jane Foot from Canton.” Her grandfather, an Episcopal minister in Greenville, was friends with Will Percy, author of Lanterns on the Levee. She grew up hearing the music of the pulpit and the choir and the poetry of Emily Dickinson, her father’s favorite. In her last years, when her eyesight had failed, she asked us to read poetry to her.

She loved the old poets, the poets of her youth. Those were the words she understood and to which she turned for comfort, but in her core she was a gentle radical, as restless for change, for the world to turn, for those she loved to come to a deeper understanding of one another, as any beat poet or angry rapper. She had the soul of a poet. She dealt in the concrete as a means of understanding abstraction. She was wise but patient in the way she dispensed her wisdom. She gave us time to see her meaning, to let us find it for ourselves. Only now that she is gone are some of those lessons becoming clear.

We think she would be pleased to think that in her name others will be leaving clues along the way as she did. Who better than today’s new poets? They are the ones who look ahead and show us with a flicker of white tail disappearing into the woods the way a path may lie.

Meg and Mac Clayton
Palo Alto, CA
October 2009

These awards are not part of a contest. Only works published in the Michigan Quarterly Review are eligible, and all works published in the relevant categories are automatically considered for the awards.